Connect with us

Iowa Hawkeyes

Hawkeyes hammer Badgers on the mat | News, Sports, Jobs

MADISON, Wis. — The third-ranked College of Iowa wrestling staff clinched a share of the Massive 10 normal period championship with a 35-2 gain over No. 16 Wisconsin on Sunday at the UW Field Dwelling.

The Hawkeyes improved to 14- all round and 9- in the Massive 10, tying Iowa with Penn State for the dual title. The normal period title is Iowa’s 11th since the convention began recognizing a dual winner in 1999.

“We’re obtaining ready for Oklahoma State, we’re obtaining ready for the postseason, whether or not we get a trophy for this or not,” stated Iowa head mentor Tom Models. “We have to continue to keep obtaining superior and that’s the base line. Our finest wrestling is in front of us, but our finest wrestling is coming out of us.”

The Hawkeyes received the initially nine matches and had a 30-2 gain in takedowns. Iowa place up bonus details in six matches.

Spencer Lee received by slide at 125 lbs, Mitch Bowman received by specialized slide at 174, and Austin DeSanto (133), Vince Turk (141), Kaleb Younger (157), and Jacob Warner (197) all received by key determination.

Second-ranked Alex Marinelli received a 6-4 determination in a matchup of major-three wrestlers. Marinelli made use of a reversal in the third interval to pressure extra time, and obtained a takedown 35 seconds into sudden victory to major No. 3 Evan Wick.

Iowa returns to the mat upcoming Sunday at Oklahoma State in a 2 p.m. dual.

No. 3 Iowa 35, No. 16 Wisconsin 2

At Madison, Wis.

125–Spencer Lee (IA) pinned Ethan Rotondo, :56 133–Austin DeSanto (IA) key dec. Jens Lantz, 21-8 141–Vince Turk (IA) key dec. Michael Cullen, 11-1 149–Pat Lugo (IA) dec. Cole Martin, 3-1 SV1 157–Kaleb Younger (IA) key dec. Garrett Design, 11-2 165–Alex Marinelli (IA) dec. Evan Wick, 6-4 SV1 174–Mitch Bowman (IA) tech. slide Anders Lantz, 27-9 184–Cash Wilcke (IA) dec. Mason Reinhardt, 5-4 197–Jacob Warner (IA) key dec. Beau Breske, 9- *285–Trent Hillger (W) dec. Sam Stoll, 1-.

* — the two groups deducted one particular staff place subsequent match

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Iowa Hawkeyes